Reading Specialist

School district superintendents are increasingly emphasizing the need for teachers to have a strong background in the teaching of reading. The Reading Specialist program enables teachers who are already certified to obtain both a Reading Specialist Certificate and a master's degree in education with a specialization in reading. The Reading Specialist Certification requires 24 credit hours and successful completion of the Reading Specialist PRAXIS exam. The Master of Science in Education with a specialization in Reading requires an additional 12 credits and completion of a culminating experience.

Reading Specialist Certificate Courses: 24 credits

EDU 641 Foundations of Language and Literacy

EDU 642 Word Study

EDU 647 Reading and Writing for English Language Learners

EDU 648 Special Education and the Reading Specialist

EDU 649 The Reading and Writing Connection

EDU 650 Reading in the Content Area

EDU 645 Diagnosis, Assessment and Remediation

EDU 645-A Reading Specialist Internship

EDU 646 Data Driven Instruction

Masters degree candidates must complete the following additional courses: 12 credits

EDU 651 Reading Leadership

EDU 515 Research Methods

EDU 565 Staff Development

EDU 595 Professional Contribution