Clicking the Misericordia University logo will return you to the homepage
President Botzman presents workshop for ACE fellows
Posted 05/05/2017 01:01PM

Misericordia University and its 2016-17 American Council on Education (ACE) fellow Dale-Elizabeth Pehrsson hosted eight members of the ACE Fellows Program for a workshop on forensic analytics for potential collegiate presidents. Misericordia University President Thomas J. Botzman, Ph.D., presented the workshop, "What You Should Look for Before You Commit to a Presidency."

Established in 1965, the ACE Fellows Program strengthens institutions and leadership in American higher education by identifying and preparing faculty and administrators as senior leaders of colleges and universities. Dr. Pehrsson is a professor and dean of the College of Education and Human Services at Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, Michigan. One of 29 fellows selected in a rigorous national competition, Dr. Pehrsson chose Misericordia for her fellowship placement and has been living and working on campus since September 2016.

During their two-day visit, the ACE fellows met with Dr. Botzman and his senior leadership team, including vice presidents, deans and department directors. They also had a session with Patricia Thatcher, Ph.D., associate vice president for academic affairs, Patrick Hamilton, Ph.D., associate professor and chair of the Department of English, and students who presented their research from the Teagle Foundation on Student Critical Thinking. Their visit also included an introduction to and tour of the Ruth Matthews Bourger Women with Children Program facilities at Misericordia University.


American Council on Education (ACE) Fellows Program members participating in a financial forensics workshop at Misericordia University. Participating ACE fellows, front row from left, are Kristen C. Eichhorn, State University of New York College at Oswego; Sylvia R. Carey-Butler, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh; Alisa Rosenthal, Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minnesota; Nancy C. Cornwell, Montana State University; Dale-Elizabeth Pehrsson, Central Michigan University, and Dr. Thomas J. Botzman, Ph.D., president, Misericordia University; second row, Marc Tomljanovich, Drew University, New Jersey; Jake Zhu, California State University, San Bernadino; Bradley J. Fuster, State University of New York at Buffalo, and James Spiller, State University of New York at Brockport.