Skip to Content

Off-Campus Course Transfer Policy


This policy is effective as of March 13, 2012, and applies to all courses taken in Summer 2012 and beyond:


Off-campus courses are defined as those not sponsored by Misericordia University or by our consortium partners, King's College and Wilkes University (see Consortium Programs). Students may transfer in three (3) 3-4 credit courses (no more than two (2) of which may be 3-4 credit core courses) for a total of no more than 12 credits.  Credits earned through study abroad are also considered off-campus courses except those earned through our consortium partners or at institutions with which Misericordia has cooperative agreements.    


A student who will have completed 60 credits of academic work by the time the off-campus course begins will only be approved to take additional off-campus courses at an accredited four-year institution (or an equivalent institution, if taking credits through a study abroad program).


All off-campus courses must be evaluated and approved as to their equivalency to Misericordia University courses. This determination will be made in consultation between the department chair in the discipline which sponsors the course at Misericordia University and the registrar. Only grades of C- or better will be accepted for transfer. Transfer credits must come from an accredited degree-granting institution or equivalent as determined by the registrar in consultation with the department chair.


Off-campus course requests for currently enrolled students must be submitted to the registrar, and must be accompanied by a course or catalog description of the course the student intends to complete. Department chairs may request additional information if deemed necessary. If a course is not approved in advance of taking the course, it will not be accepted in transfer.