Skip to Content
Search

Drugs and Alcohol

Drugs and Alcohol

The Misericordia University Student Handbook outlines the University's policies regarding the use of drugs and alcohol on campus. All students are required to know these policies and adhere to them.

Educational Programming

Educational materials, programming and experienced personnel are available from the Counseling Center of the Student Success Center. A detailed description of the University's educational programming in the areas of drugs and alcohol can be found in the Misericordia University Student Handbook.

For Employees

The Misericordia University Employee Handbook outlines the University's policies regarding employee use of drugs and alcohol on campus. All employees are required to know these policies and adhere to them.

Federal, State and Local Sanctions

Alcoholic Beverages

Misericordia University does not encourage the use or abuse of alcoholic beverages. The University calls attention to the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania which in part state:

It is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to purchase, consume, possess or transport alcoholic beverages.

First offense

Fine up to $300 and 90 day suspension of your driver's license.

Second offense

Fine up to $500, plus costs and one year suspension of your driver's license.

Third and subsequent offenses

Fine up to $500, plus costs and two year suspension of your driver's license.

In addition to fines, costs and driver's license suspension, the state may require the offenders to successfully complete a prescribed program of education, intervention or counseling completely independent of any program or sanction developed by the University.

It is also illegal to sell or furnish alcoholic beverage to persons under 21 years of age.

First offense

$1000 fine.

Second and subsequent offenses

$2500 fine and costs.

In addition to criminal charges, civil liability can extend to the person who furnished the alcohol to the minor.

In addition, it is illegal to possess an identification card falsely identifying a person by name, age, date of birth or photograph as being 21 years of age or older. It is also illegal to attempt to obtain alcoholic beverage by using a false identification card or the identification card of another person.

First offense

Fine up to $300, plus costs and 90 day suspension of your driver's license.

Second offense

Fine up to $500, plus costs and one year suspension of your driver's license.

Third and subsequent offenses

Fine up to $500 and 2 year suspension of your driver's license.

The arresting police department will notify the parents or guardian of the minor charged.

Public intoxication is illegal and clearly contrary to Misericordia University's policy on alcohol.

Persons convicted of public intoxication can be fined up to $300, plus costs, and/or 90 days in jail.

Driving under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or a combination of both is illegal and carries a maximum of a two-year jail term and/or a $500 fine and a suspension of your driver's license. It is a privilege, not a right, to operate a motor vehicle in Pennsylvania.

Anyone who operates a motor vehicle is deemed to have given consent to one or more tests of his/her blood, breath or urine to determine the blood alcohol content. If you are arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence and refuse to take one of the previously mentioned tests, your driver's license will be suspended for a year, regardless of the court's decision regarding your guilt or innocence.

The use of drugs prohibited by federal and state laws is not permitted. Individuals who do so risk action by Misericordia University and civil authorities.

Misericordia University is not a sanctuary from the Law and will cooperate fully with law enforcement agencies in support of these regulations. The University cannot protect you from your responsibility to obey the law or from those who must enforce it.