Entrance Arch

The entrance arch on Lake Street is the main entrance to Misericordia University, and it was built between 1930 and 1933. The prominent structure that welcomes members of the Misericordia community to campus was chosen to be part of the University's logo in 2007.

Entrance Arch
The entrance arch is adorned by two cupolas, each symbolically unique. From Lake Street, the cupola on the left, taller and more elaborate, represents the infallibility of God, and the cupola on the right, smaller and less ornate, represents the fallibility of humankind. The design of the entrance arch has remained virtually unchanged since its construction.

Early artist rendition of arch
This is one of the first artist renditions of the arch, drawn in 1931. Before the entrance arch was built, the original entrance to campus was farther up Lake Street between the current townhouses and North Gate entrance. The brickwork designating the original entrance is still visible from Lake Street.

Entrance arch in 1933
Early photographs suggest the entrance arch was built around the same time as the east and west wings of Mercy Hall in 1932. The 1933 yearbook was the first Misericordia publication with photographs of the entrance arch.

Close-up of the arches inscription
The inscription above the arch reads, “Misericordia, Sisters of Mercy Provincial House, Villa St. Teresa,” indicating the home of Misericordia and the Sisters of Mercy. Villa St. Teresa was home to the novitiates of the Sisters of Mercy at MU and was dedicated to St. Teresa of Avila, Spain.