RSS Feeds
Alerts Signup
College of Arts and Sciences program on Nov. 14 profiles 2017 Nobel Prize laureates
Posted 11/02/2017 11:15AM

The College of Arts and Sciences at Misericordia University is exploring the accomplishments and innovations behind the six 2017 Nobel Prize award recipients with the free program, "2017 Nobel Prize Award Winner Highlights," on Tuesday, Nov. 14 at 7 p.m. in the Catherine Evans McGowan Room of the Mary Kintz Bevevino Library. Members of the university faculty will examine and summarize the careers of the 2017 Nobel Prize laureates for physics, chemistry, physiology/medicine, economics and peace. Refreshments will be served.

Dean Heidi L.K. Manning, Ph.D.

"We believe it will be beneficial for our students and the community to examine the lives and careers of those who have earned some of the world's most sought-after awards," said Heidi L.K. Manning, Ph.D., dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Misericordia University. "Who are these people and what motivates them? What does it take to become a future Nobel Prize winner?"

Widely considered the most prestigious awards given for intellectual achievement in the world, the Nobel Prize program was established on Nov. 27, 1895, when Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace. In 1968, Sweden's central bank established and added The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel. Each recipient or laureate receives a gold medal, a diploma and a financial award decided by the Nobel Foundation. In 2017, each prize included an award of about $1.1 million. The Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences have been awarded 585 times since 1901.

Dr. Manning will discuss Rainer Weoss, Barru C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne, the 2017 Physics Award winners recognized by the Nobel Committee "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves."

Presented the 2017 Chemistry Award "for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution," laureates Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson will be profiled by Beth Haas, Ph.D., assistant professor of chemistry.

Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young, were presented the 2017 Physiology or Medicine Award "for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm." They will be profiled by Anthony Serino, Ph.D., associate professor of biology.

Joseph Curran, professor and chair of the Department of Religious Studies, will discuss the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, the 2017 Peace Prize winner recognized "for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons."

The life and career of 2017 Literature Award Winner Kazuo Ishiguro, "who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world," will be presented by Patrick Hamilton, Ph.D., professor and chair of the English Department.

In addition, Thomas Sweetz, M.S., instructor, in the Business Department, will summarize the life and career of 2017 Economic Sciences laureate Richard H. Thaler, recognized by the Nobel Committee "for his contributions to behavioral economics."

Misericordia University Sandy and Marlene Insalaco Hall
powered by finalsite